Bloganuary: Do You Play in Your Daily Life? What says “playtime” to you?

Do people not take time to relax and do fun things when they feel like it? That sounds extremely stressful, and extremely tiring. At least, that’s my knee-jerk reaction to this question. Intellectually, I know that there are people who are unable to take the time and do something fun. I am pretty sure I know or have known people who were like that.

My go to relaxation activities are not too different from my regular activities. I like to read, and I like to write. Sometimes I get a little restless from doing either because reading and writing are also somewhat things I do. In those cases I generally like to play mobile games. I am currently playing a strategy game called “Rise of Castles.” I also play solitaire or a tile matching game.

Anything computer/video game related is fairly recent. I am not very good at learning how to do the various actions in video games. I get confused easily, and may or may not have dyscalculia, which makes most things related to numbers/navigation and so on…difficult. (Don’t ask me for directions. Don’t even ask me whether something is on the left or right. I don’t know. I don’t know anything.) I also tend to get very lost with in game directions. (The poor NPCs I kept repeatedly bothering because I couldn’t find my way around the town and kept going to the same building without realizing it.) But mobile point and click games are fairly easy.

I don’t usually watch TV. I have auditory processing problems which can make watching most movies or TV shows difficult. (Subtitles are occasionally not too useful either.) I have less patience for movies/shows than I do for books. This is largely because it is also entirely possible for me to go through an entire movie and not remember any of the character names–even if names are frequently being shouted. (I may be slightly face-blind. I have occasionally failed to recognize relatives.)

“Playtime” is what happens whenever I am distracted enough that I realize that I need to take a break.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

Posts

Passing the Hat

Become a Patron on Patreon

PayPal Tip Jar

Other Sites

Royal Road

Writing Blog on Tumblr

Plot Weasel Containment

On AO3

On Facebook

On Mastodon

On Bluesky

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started